Where members of parliment sit and their roles Composition

MPs in the same party tend to take a seat together in the House of Commons Chamber. The Chamber is a rectangular condition so the Government and the Resistance can confront each other. The Government sits for the benches for the right of the Speaker. The required Opposition and MPs from all other parties sit on the benches to the left of the Speaker.

Such as the Commons, the Government plus the Opposition confront each other. The Government and the Bishops sit on the right of the Lord Speaker. The Opposition get-togethers sit on the benches left of the Head of the family Speaker as the Crossbench Colleagues sit typically on benches that mix the Step of the House of Lords at the rear of the clerks' table.

In both the Commons and the Lords, Government ministers and Opposition shadow ministers sit on front side benches and are known as 'frontbenchers'.

MPs and Members with the Lords who also do not carry ministerial positions sit for the back of the Chamber and therefore are known as 'backbenchers'.

MPs and Members of the Lords need not belong to a political get together. Instead, MPs can sit down as Independents and Lords can sit as Crossbenchers or Independents.

The Anglican Archbishops of Canterbury and York, the Bishops of Durham, Birmingham and Winchester and the twenty one other mature diocesan bishops of the Church of Britain have seating in the Lords. This is for traditional reasons. When they retire since bishops their particular membership of the home ends.

Users of either the House of Commons or House of Lords can change political party at any time -- known as 'crossing the floor'. The term comes from the fact that, traditionally, Users of Legislative house from other parties sit on opposite attributes of the Chamber.

Therefore , a Member who adjustments party usually has to get across the floor "" sit on the other side of the Step. The term is employed to signify the changing of fidelity.